Member Contributions

The BBF recognizes the outstanding contributions of those who have shaped the growth of Broadband, worldwide

Distinguished Fellow Award

The Distinguished Fellow title is bestowed by the Broadband Forum to exceptional individuals who have over time provided a major influence on the direction and success of broadband development. Individuals who attain this honor and are recognized as BBF Distinguished Fellows are the key individuals who help the Forum break into new areas of technology, and whose vision continues to inspire our industry's growth.



Lincoln Lavoie, UNH-IOL


Barbara Stark, AT&T
Michael Shaffer, Nokia


Les Brown, Huawei Technologies


George Dobrowski, Huawei Technologies


David Thorne, BT
David Sinicrope, Ericsson


Thomas Anschutz, AT&T
Andrew Malis, Verizon Communications


J. Rao Cherukuri, Juniper Networks
Greg Bathrick, PMC-Sierra, Ltd


Dave Allan, Ericsson


Frank Van der Putten, Alcatel-Lucent


Tom Starr, AT&T
Gavin Young, C&W Access
Bernard Dugerdil, Freescale Semiconductor

Circle of Excellence

The Broadband Forum recognizes the exceptional contributions of its members through the "Circle of Excellence" award, which is awarded at our annual meetings. Individuals are inducted into the Circle of Excellence as a one-time achievement, determined by nomination and awarded to a select few who have consistently exhibited leadership, diligence, and provided contributions that are foremost in advancing the Forum's mission.




Bruno Cornaglia, Vodaphone
Marcos Martinez, Maxlinear


Joey Boyd, ADTRAN
David Minodier, Orange


Martin Casey, Calix Networks
Diane Patton, Cisco Systems


Hongyu Li, Huawei Technologies
Scott Mansfield, Ericsson


Jaume Rius I Riu, Ericsson

Timothy Carey, Alcatel-Lucent

Roberto Carnero Ros, Ericsson

Ken Kerpez, ASSIA Inc.
Balazs Varga, Ericsson


Michael Langhammer, Deutsche Telekom


Tim Sheehan, UNH IOL


Vincent Buchoux, LAN


Yves Hertoghs, Cisco Systems


Bill Welch, Juniper Networks


Klaus Wich, Nokia Siemens Networks


Thomas Haag, Deutsche Telekom


Nurit Sprecher, Nokia Siemens Networks
Elisa Bellagamba, Ericsson


Lincoln Lavoie, UNH InterOperability


Aleksandra Kozarev, Lantiq


Dirk Van de Poel, Technicolor


Fabien Le Clech, France Telecom


Michael Shaffer, Alcatel-Lucent


Arlynn Wilson, ADTRAN


Hakan Westin, Tilgin


Ron Insler, RAD Data Communications


Tom Anschutz, AT&T
Lior Yeheskiel, ECI Telecom


Sven Ooghe, Alcatel-Lucent


Moti Morgenstern, ECI Telecom


Les Humphrey, BT


William Lupton (2Wire)
Marco Quacchia (Telecom Italia)
Gilles Straub (Thomson)


Herman Verbueken (Alcatel-Lucent)


Yue Chen (Juniper Networks)


John Blackford (2Wire)


Rich Cardone (TAZZ Networks)


Michael Hanrahan (Huawei Technologies)


Christele Bouchat (Alcatel)


Ed Shrum (BellSouth)


William Lupton, (2Wire)


Anna Salguero, (AT&T)


Lisa Garza (Cisco Systems)


None awarded.


Tim Spets (Westell, Inc.)
Jeff Bernstein (2Wire, Inc.)


Alan White (Samsung)


Heather Kirksey (Motive)


Tom Anschutz (BellSouth Communications)


Peter Adams (BT)
Greg Bathrick (Texas Instruments)


None awarded.


Martin Jackson (GlobeSpan Virata)


Greg Wetzel (Covad Communications)
Barbara Stark (BellSouth Communications)
Rajesh Abbi (Alcatel)


Philip Nelson (Alcatel)


Steve Aspell (SBC)
Ron Brost (SBC)


Scott Valcourt (University of New Hampshire)


Peter LeBlanc (Aware)

Karen Johnson (E-site)
Bryan Way (Earthlink)
Marcille Sibbit (Nightfire)

John Stephens (Cayman Systems)

Franz Starnberger (Ahead Communications System)
Ted Fagenson (2Wire, Inc.)



Fred Kaudel (Fluke Networks)
Peter Silverman (3COM)
Robert Ferguson (Oresis)

David Allan (Nortel Networks)
Robert Ferguson (Intel Corporation)

Outstanding Contributor Award

Once a year, at the annual meeting, the Outstanding Contributor awards are given to individuals who, during the previous year, went above and beyond the call of duty within the Forum work areas by making many contributions throughout the year as well as effectively moving the consensus process forward. Both the quantity and quality of the contributions are taken into consideration.

2018Nick Hancock, ADTRAN
Yuanlong Jiang, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Georgios Karagiannis, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Ludwig Pauwels, Nokia
Marco Spini, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Yuanlong Jiang, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

2017Marta Seda, Calix
Marcos Martinez, Marvell
Guiu Fabregas, Nokia
Ron Insler, RAD
Denis Khotimsky, Verizon
2016Klaus Wich, Axiros
Les Humphrey, BT
Rao Cherukuri, Juniper
Ken Schneider, Telebyte
Bruno Cornagli, Vodafone
2015Ken Ko, ADTRAN
Ken Kerpez, ASSIA
David Thorne, BT
Martin Casey, Calix Networks
Diane Patton, Cisco Systems
Jinwei Xia, Huawei Technologies
2014Stefano Galli, ASSIA
William Lupton, Cisco
Diane Patton, Cisco
Yves Hertoghs, Cisco
Dean Cheng, Huawei Technologies
Frederic Klamm, Orange
2013Timothy Carey, Alcatel-Lucent
Konstantin Livanos, Alcatel-Lucent
Christopher Croot, BT
Roberto David Carnero Ros, Ericsson
Rao Cherukuri, Juniper Networks
Vincent Buchoux, LAN
Aleksandra Kozarev, Lantiq
2012Christopher Croot, BT
Lowell Lamb, Broadcom
Yves Hertoghs, Cisco Systems
Michael Langhammer, Deutsche Telekom
William Welch, Juniper Networks
Alex Fedosseev, Motorola Mobility
Tim Spets, Motorola Mobility
Yoav Cohen, Nokia Siemens Networks
William Lupton, Pace
2011Christopher Croot, BT
Robert Frazier, Ericsson
Alan Kavanagh, Ericsson
Lincoln Lavoie, UNH InterOperability Lab
Herman Verbueken, Alcatel-Lucent
John Blackford, Pace
Yves Hertoghs, Cisco Systems
Thomas Haag, Deutsche Telekom
2010Joel Pennington, ClearAccess
Aleksandra Kozarev, Lantiq
Peter Silverman, ASSIA
Isabelle Morency, Iometrix
William Lupton, 2Wire
William Welch, Juniper Networks
2009Dave Allan, Nortel Networks
Mauro Tilloca, Telecom Italia
Michael Hanrahan, Huawei Technologies
William Lupton, 2Wire
Peter Reusens, LAN
2008Peter Adams, BT
Heather Kirksey, Motive, Inc.
Hong Yu Li, Huawei Technologies
William Lupton, 2Wire
Peter Reusens, LAN
Tim Spets, Westell
2007William Lupton, 2Wire
Aleksandra Kosarev, Infineon
Peter Adams, BT
Jalil Kamali, Texas Instruments
Barbara Stark, BellSouth
2006David Allan, Nortel Networks
Jeff Bernstein, 2Wire
Ed Shrum, BellSouth
Barbara Stark, BellSouth
Herman Verbueken, Alcatel
2005Tim Spets, Westell
Christele Bouchat, Alcatel
George Pitsoulakis, Westell
Anna Salguero, SBC
Jeff Bernstein, 2Wire, Inc.
2004J. Alan White, Samsung
Mauro Tilocca, Telecom Italia
Barbara Stark, BellSouth
William Quiles, Samsung
George Dobrowski, Globespan Virata/Conexant
Jeff Bernstein, 2Wire, Inc.
2003Philip Nelson, Alcatel
Masami Ueda, Sumitomo Electric
Ross Cassan, Spirent